03 Oct 2022

Carlow country music singer nominated for five awards

Vote for him now

Carlow Carlow Carlow

Derek Ryan in a screenshot of his new music video, 'Ya Can't Stay Here'

Voting is open to the public for The Irish Post Country Music Awards 2018 and Carlow's Derek Ryan has been nominated for five awards in all. 

The annual event, now in it's second year, will be broadcast live across Ireland on TG4 and online around the globe on Tuesday, September 11.

The star-studded show will go live at 9.30pm on the night from the Millennium Forum in Derry, with a packed house of over 800 music fans set to enjoy a lively evening of entertainment featuring some of Ireland’s biggest stars in the genre.

Garryhill singer Derek has been nominated in the following categories: Best Country Music Video for 'Homeland'; Best Male; Best Country Single for 'Hayley Jo'; Best Country Album for 'The Fire' and Best Country Songwriter. 

Country singer Malachi Cush and popular television presenter Aoife Ní Thuairisg return to host what promises to be a superb evening.

The IPCMA's will once again allow the public to vote for their favourite acts across seven Award categories. The prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award 2018 will also be presented on the evening.

The final shortlist of nominees for each Award category has been chosen by industry professionals and is proud supportly by IMRO. The Award winners will be decided with a split percentage between the public vote and the esteemed industry judging panel.

In a post on Facebook, Derek said: "So I’ve been nominated for a rake of awards at the Irish Post awards coming up at the Millenium Forum! Would be great if ya could give us a vote."

The Irish Post Country Music Awards 2018 will be broadcast live from The Millennium Forum, Derry at 9.30pm on Tuesday, September 11. Tune in on TG4 across Ireland or on the TG4 Player online around the world.

Terms and conditions apply. Voting for all categories in The Irish Post Country Music Awards 2018 will close at 5pm on Thursday 6th September 2018.

To vote for Derek, click here. 

To continue reading this article,
please subscribe and support local journalism!

Subscribing will allow you access to all of our premium content and archived articles.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.