07 Oct 2022

Carlow woman on shortlist for Ernst Young Entrepreneur of the Year awards programme

Best of luck!

Carlow's Lily Holmes has made the shortlist for the Ernst Young Entrepreneur of the Year awards programme. 

Lily, Managing Director of PB Machine Tech, is one of 24 finalists this year following in the footsteps of Carlow's Rachel Doyle who made the cut last year.

This year’s finalists have been selected from more than 120 nominations by a judging panel chaired by 2006 EY Entrepreneur of the Year Anne Heraty, who is chief executive of Cpl Resources.

Now in its 22nd year, the EY Entrepreneur of the Year awards programme works to recognise, promote and build a supportive community around Ireland’s high-growth entrepreneurs.

The finalists in the emerging category are: Mark Dowds of Trov; John Mullinsof Amarenco Solar; Tom Cronin of Rye River Brewery; Mervyn O’Callaghan and Simon Murray of Provision Vehicle Cameras; Sonia Deasy of Pestle & Mortar; Ian Nolan and Alex Kelly of Brightflag; Triona Mullane of Madme Technologies; and James and Timothy McElroy of HouseMyDog.

The finalists in the industry category are: Matt Ryan of Press Up Entertainment Group; Pat McDonagh of Supermac’s Holdings; Mark Whitaker of Johnson & Perrot Motor Group; Patrick Derry of DRT (NI) Limited; Peter and Una Kearns of The Institute of Education; Ashley McCulla of McCulla (Ireland) Limited; Laurence O’Kane of IMED Healthcare; and Donnacha Hurley of Motor Mania.

The finalists in the international category are: Richard Kennedy of Devenish; Andrew Day of Keywords Studios; Lily Holmes of PB Machine Tech; Paul McKenna of Mac-Group; Philip Noone of Aalto Bio; Shane Evans of Scapinghub; Brian Leslie of Seaquest Systems; and Lulu O’Sullivan of

As part of the programme, the 24 finalists will join more than 60 other entrepreneurs for a week-long "CEO Retreat" to Hong Kong, Shenzhen and Macau next month.

The shortlisted entrepreneurs will vie for the title of EY Entrepreneur of the Year at an awards ceremony in Dublin in November.

The winner will go on to represent Ireland at World Entrepreneur of the Year in Monaco in June 2020.

To continue reading this article,
please subscribe and support local journalism!

Subscribing will allow you access to all of our premium content and archived articles.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.