UPDATED: Carlow County Council votes to nominate Gavin Duffy for the presidential election

Councillors voted on the nomination on Monday, September 10

Darren Hassett


Darren Hassett



Carlow Carlow Carlow

Gavin Duffy has secured a nomination from Carlow County Council

Members of Carlow County Council have voted to nominate Dragons' Den businessman Gavin Duffy for the presidential election next month. 

The nomination was passed by a vote of seven in favour of Mr Duffy with five votes from members in favour of Sean Gallagher. 

Three councillors voted for neither of the candidates, two abstained and another was absent. 

Mr Duffy was present in the Council Chamber and said he was "humbled" by the Council's backing. 

The roll call vote went as follow:

Cllr Fergal Browne (Gavin Duffy)

Cllr John Cassin (Neither)

Cllr Andrea Dalton (Sean Gallagher)

Cllr Jim Deane (Abstain)

Cllr Michael Doran (Gavin Duffy)

Cllr Denis Foley (Gavin Duffy)

Cllr Andy Gladney (Absent)

Cllr Tommy Kinsella (Gavin Duffy)

Cllr Walter Lacey (Gavin Duffy)

Cllr Arthur McDonald (Sean Gallagher)

Cllr Ken Murnane (Sean Gallagher) 

Cllr Charlie Murphy (Gavin Duffy) 

Cllr John Murphy (Neither)

Cllr Brian O'Donoghue (Gavin Duffy)

Cllr Will Paton (Neither) 

Cllr John Pender (Sean Gallagher) 

Cllr Fintan Phelan (Sean Gallagher) 

Cllr Willie Quinn (Abstain)