06 Jul 2022

Revealed! The eight people through to the quarter finals of Carlow's All Time Greats

Who did you vote for?


Who is in the quarter final of Carlow's All Time Greats? Read on...

You voted...and now we know the eight people who have made it to the quarter finals of the search for Carlow's All Time Greats. 

We have a few surprises and some interesting results, but have had to say goodbye to a few of those who are great Carlow people.

Thanks to everyone who voted so far - the quarter final pairings will be announced on Monday evening and polls in the quarter final will open then so don't forget to vote!

Results of the round of 16:

In Poll #1 local volunteering hero Eugene Walsh came out on top over film superstar Saoirse Ronan. Eugene nabbed 54% of the vote while the Atonement actress managed to secure a respectable 46% of the vote.

Meanwhille, over in Poll #2 it was Kevin Barry who took in 67% of the vote and overcame Michael Governey who managed 33%. 

Poll #3 saw Molly Scott sprint past Kathryn Thomas with the Carlow athlete taking in 57% of the vote compared to the RTÉ TV presenter who got 43%. 

In the fourth of our polls, actor Patrick Bergin stormed home with 67% of the vote and he was up against Derek Ryan who secured 33%. 

Poll #5 involved KCLR commentator Brendan Hennessy and he eased home with 67% of the vote compared to RTÉ journalist, Olivia O'Leary, who came in with 33%. 

Poll #6 saw Visit Carlow's Kevin Brady take his spot in the quarter finals with 86% of the vote compared to Carlow scientist, John Tyndall's 14%.

It was a battle of the sport stars in Poll #7 with Sam Watson going up against Irish international Sean O'Brien and Watson jumped into the quarter finals with 74% of the vote compared to O'Brien's 25%. 

The final poll pitted Turlough O'Brien against painter Frank O'Meara and the Carlow senior football manager took a spot in the last eight with 79% of the vote compared to Frank O'Meara's 21%. 

The last eight is made up of (click the link to see their bios):

Eugene Walsh

Kevin Barry

Molly Scott 

Patrick Bergin 

Brendan Hennessy 

Kevin Brady 

Sam Watson 

Turlough O'Brien 

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.