29 Jan 2022

EXPLAINER: Carlow Local Election 2019 and the seats to be filled across the county

Here's everything you need to know

Carlow Carlow Carlow

The Local Electoral Area Boundary Committee Report in 2018 saw Carlow move from two to three Municipal Districts for the 2019 Local Election with eighteen seats on Carlow County Council up for grabs (*the same amount as 2014).

Tullow has been restored as an electoral area with six seats, Carlow Town MD now has seven seats (down from ten) and Muinebheag MD has five seats (down from eight).

Click here for a breakdown of all the candidates running in each MD

In Carlow Town, there are 12 candidates running while in the Tullow area, there are 10 people competing for the six seats.

In Bagenalstown/Muinebheag there are nine candidates going for the five seats.

On Saturday morning, the sorting of the ballot papers for the Local, European and Divorce Referendum began with the count for the Local Election expected to get underway at around 2pm in Askea Boys National School. 

Tallies began once the boxes were opened and you can stay tuned to Carlow Live for all the latest updates from those on our live blog.

FACT: Did you know that in the 2009 Local Election there were 21 seats up for grabs on Carlow County Council 

In the 2014 Local Election, Fine Gael secured six seats, Fianna Fáil secured five seats; Labour had two, Sinn Féin had three and Independents secured two. 

Here's a breakdown of the electoral divisions that comprise each local electoral area: 

Ballinacarrig, Burton Hall, Carlow Rural, Carlow Urban, Graigue Urban and Johnstown. 

Ballon, Ballintemple, Clonegall, Clonmore, Cranemore, Grangeford, Hacketstown, Haroldstown, Kellistown, Kilbride, Killerrig, Kineagh, Myshall, Rahill, Rathrush, Rathvilly, Shangarry, Tankardstown, Templepeter, Tiknock, Tullow Rural, Tullow Urban, Tullowbeg and Williamstown. 

Agha, Ballyellin, Ballymoon, Ballymurphy, Borris, Clogrenan, Coonogue, Corries, Fennagh, Garryhill, Glynn, Killedmond, Kyle, Leighlinbridge, Marley, Muinebeag Rural, Muinebeag Urban, Nurney, Oldleighlin, Rathanna, Rathornan, Ridge, Sliguff and Tinnahinch.  

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.