Carlow finalists among 24 announced for Irish Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards

Well done!

Darren Hassett


Darren Hassett


Carlow Carlow Carlow

Chris McGill, Head Lad, John J Hanlon, County Carlow - Finalist Newcomer Award

Twenty-four finalists, short-listed for eight of the 10 award categories in the 2019 Irish Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards have been announced.

The finalists were shortlisted from over 300 nominations received.
The winner in each of these categories will receive a specially-commissioned trophy and €4,000 in prize-money, with the exception of the Newcomer Award, who will receive a trip to Dubai, plus €2,500. The other two finalists in each category will each receive €1,000.
The winner’s and finalist’s yard or stud in seven categories will also receive €1,000 to be divided amongst employees.
The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Tuesday, October 29 in the Killashee Hotel in Naas, Kildare.

(Pictured above: Martin Molloy, Work Rider, Pat Fahy, County Carlow - Finalist In The Saddle Award)
The Racecourse Award is chosen by the Irish Stablestaff Association based on a quality programme survey with the purpose of setting quality standards for stable staff at all racecourses in Ireland.

The racecourse with the highest score will win the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Racecourse Award and will be announced at the awards. 
The flagship award – The Irish Racing Excellence Award will be presented to one of the winners of the Administration, Racing and Breeding Support Services, Newcomer, Horse Care, In the Saddle, Leadership (Stud), Leadership (Stable) and Dedication to Racing and Breeding Awards who is, in the opinion of the judging panel, the most deserving of recognition for their commitment, hard work, and ongoing contribution to the high standards and reputation of the Irish thoroughbred industry.

The winner of this award will receive an additional trophy and €5,000, plus €5,000 for their yard, stud or employer.
The 10 award categories carry over €80,000 prize-money.
Diana Cooper, Strategic Advisor, Charities, for Godolphin, said: "Godolphin is delighted to acknowledge and celebrate the fabulous work that stud and stable staff do year in year out. The contribution of all 24 finalists has, without a doubt, helped establish the high regard Irish racing is held in globally."
The finalists are:
Racing and Breeding Support Services Award
Willie Gibbons, Track Foreman, Leopardstown Racecourse, Co Dublin
Wayne Middleton, Strength & Conditioning Coach, RACE, Co Kildare
Perry Power, Track & Facilities Manager, Tipperary & Cork Racecourses
Administration Award
Dorothy Fleming, Racing Secretary, Ken Condon, Co Kildare
Marie Rowley, Racing Secretary, Pat Flynn, Co Waterford
Geraldine Ryan, Office Manager, Camas Park Stud, Co Tipperary
Newcomer Award
Tom Harney, Stable Lad & Work Rider, Ross O’Sullivan, Co Kildare
Cheryl McClean, Exercise Rider & Groom, Willie McCreery, Co Kildare
Chris McGill, Head Lad, John J Hanlon, Co Carlow
Horse Care Award
Paul Dupli, Head Lad, Martin Brassil, Co Kildare
Gerry Hanratty, Assistant Manager, Meadow Court Stud, Co Kildare
Audrey O’Neill, Exercise Rider & Groom, John Oxx, Co Kildare
In The Saddle Award
Ganna German, Work Rider & Travelling Groom, Sheila Lavery, Co Meath
Martin Molloy, Work Rider, Pat Fahy, Co Carlow
David Roche, Head Lad, Henry de Bromhead, Co Waterford
Leadership Award (Stud)
Edward Farrell, Head Man, Lisieux Stud, Co Kildare
Helder Ferreira, Assistant Head Lad, Kildangan Stud, Co Kildare
Tony O’Meara, Stallion Manager, Coolmore Stud, Co Tipperary
Leadership Award (Stable)
Niall Amond, Travelling Head Lad, Jessica Harrington, Co Kildare
Damien Byrne, Yard Manager & Travelling Head Lad, Joseph O’Brien, Co Kilkenny
Emma Connolly, Travelling Head Lass & Assistant Trainer, Noel Meade, Co Meath
Dedication to Racing and Breeding Award
Paddy Duffy, Assistant Trainer, Shane Duffy, Co Laois
Robert Gallagher, Head Lad, Michael Halford, Co Kildare
Eamonn Leigh, Assistant Trainer, Jessica Harrington, Co Kildare
Each award winner will be presented with a specially-commissioned trophy. The trophies, by sculptor Ani Mollereau, are a contemporary design of a thoroughbred horse representing the spirit of the horse racing industry.