British and Irish Lions side to face Sharks in South Africa is named

British and Irish Lions side to face Sharks is named

Munster Rugby's Conor Murray is named in the Lions matchday squad to face the Sharks on Wednesday

Conor Murray, Tadhg Beirne, Iain Henderson, Bundee Aki, Jack Conan and Tadgh Furlong have been included in the British and Irish Lions squad to face the Cell C Sharks in their latest tour match in South Africa on Wednesday.

Henderson and Aki start with Henderson captaining the Lions for the first time.

Tour captain Murray and Beirne are both included among the replacements for the game which takes place at Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg at 6pm Irish time, live on Sky Sports.

England's Tom Curry and the Welsh duo of Josh Navidi and Adam Beard will make their Lions debuts in the game.

The game is the second of eight Tour matches in the 2021 Castle Lager Lions Series which culminates with three Tests against World Champions, the Springboks.

“It’s a quick turnaround from Saturday, but we’ll be ready to go by Wednesday night,” said Lions Head Coach Warren Gatland.  

“I’m pleased we managed to come through the weekend’s game unscathed, and the boys have rested and recovered well. We feel like we’re slowly building, but, as ever, there’s still room for improvement in all facets of our game.  

“Wednesday night is another chance for us to have a look at a few more combinations. I’m looking forward to seeing how the back row goes; it’s an exciting mixture and one that we hope will offer something a bit different.

“We expect another physical test against a side who are known for their power play and ambition.

“My congratulations to Tom, Josh and Adam ahead of their first starts in a Lions jersey.”  


Wednesday, July 7
Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 6pm (BST)

15. Liam Williams (Scarlets, Wales) #833
14. Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, England) #816
13. Elliot Daly (Saracens, England) #822
12. Bundee Aki (Connacht Rugby, Ireland) #837
11. Duhan van der Merwe (Worcester Warriors, Scotland) #841
10. Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints, Wales) #821
9. Gareth Davies (Scarlets, Wales) #850
1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, England) #787
2. Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, England) #851
3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland) #848
4. Iain Henderson – Captain (Ulster Rugby, Ireland) #808
5. Adam Beard (Ospreys, Wales)
6.Josh Navidi (Cardiff Rugby, Wales)
7. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, England)  
8. Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, England) #849  

16. Ken Owens (Scarlets, Wales) #829
17. Rory Sutherland (Worcester Warriors, Scotland) #840
18. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) #818  
19. Tadhg Beirne (Munster Rugby, Ireland) #838
20. Jack Conan (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) #839
21. Conor Murray (Munster Rugby, Ireland) #790
22. Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs, Scotland) #783
23. Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby, Scotland) #844

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.