WATCH: Reaction as Fianna Fáil win their three seats in Carlow Town Local Electoral Area

Incredible scenes!

Darren Hassett


Darren Hassett


The first of the councillors were elected in Carlow Town on the first count with a landslide victory with three seats now secured for the Fianna Fáil party after count number two. 

The quota for Carlow Town is 920 with a total poll of 7,477 and Cllr Andrea Dalton (FF) secured an incredible 1,086 votes in her first Local Election to secure one of the seven seats. 

Cllr Fintan Phelan (FF) topped the poll with a remarkable 1,711 votes in Carlow Town. 

He was followed by Cllr Ken Murnane who was elected for the first time on the second count with 994 votes with all Fianna Fáil candidates in Carlow Town securing three of the seven seats up for grabs. 

For more, follow the live blog here.