26 Sept 2022

'One of the biggest disasters,' says councillor at dissolution of Bagenalstown Town Council

What do you think?

Carlow Carlow Carlow

Town Councils were abolished by former Carlow/Kilkenny TD, Phil Hogan, in 2014

"One of the biggest disasters," a councillor has called the dissolution of Bagenalstown Town Council.

Bagenalstown Town Council came to a close back in 2014 after 158 years serving democracy in the town. 

Town Councils were abolished by then Minister for the Environment, Phil Hogan. 

Speaking at a recent Bagenalstown Municipal District meeting, Cllr Arthur McDonald said the dissolution of the Town Council was "one of the biggest disasters". 

He said there used to be nine town councillors but this is now down to five and town councillors are operating at the behest of rural councillors who decide what happens in a town like Bagenalstown. 

"We're at a major disadvantage and an unbelievable thing that Minister Hogan did to towns," he added. 

Next May's local election will see Muinebheag become a five seater, Tullow a six-seater and Carlow Town a seven-seater. 

Cllr John Murphy said that Tullow was now 50% bigger than Bagenalstown and it had "no Town Council". 

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.