06 Jul 2022

IT Carlow loses out to LyIT in Sigerson Cup

 IT Carlow loses out to LyIT in Sigerson Cup

IT Carlow will face IT Sligo next week

A late Keelan McGroddy goal left Letterkenny Institute of Technology claim a notable Sigerson Cup win over IT Carlow.

LyIT 1-13 IT Carlow 1-11

In Dunganny, Co Meath, Maxi Curran’s side looked to be headed towards the back door when they trailed 1-10 to 0-9 on 56 minutes following a Gearoid Murphy score and looked in trouble against a Carlow team who were finalists the last time the third level competition was played two years ago.

However, Downings’ McGroddy got LyIT moving with a goal two minutes from time and with Jason McGee kicking four points in all, Rory O’Donnell - who made his Donegal senior debut last Friday in the Dr McKenna Cup against Down - sealed the win. O’Donnell and Ryan McFadden grabbed control of things the longer it went on.

LyIt had their chances in the first half and would’ve been disappointed to go in three points down, 1-4 to 0-4 with Adam Steed grabbing a goal right before the break. Liam Gaughan from Tourlestrane in Sligo, came off the bench and would kick four frees, with Conor O’Donnell from Carndonagh scoring twice as Peadar Mogan impressed.

In 2020, IT Carlow pipped LyIT in the semi-final of the Sigerson Cup. The Port Road students, then managed by Donegal captain Michael Murphy, trailed 1-9 to 0-9 in injury time before nicking a goal from Caoimhinn Marley that looked like it was going to take the contest to extra-time.

However, moments later, Steed netted at the other end for Carlow to seal a 2-9 to 1-9 win and a place in the final next week against DCU, which the Dublin side ended up winning. 

Tonight’s result means LyIT welcome University of Limerick - armed with Kerry’s prolific forward David Clifford - while IT Carlow have a second bite of the cherry against IT Sligo. 

LyIT: Emmet Maguire (Termon); Kieran Tobin (St Eunan’s), Seán Doherty (Buncrana), Jack Gallagher (Glenswilly); Conor O’Donnell (Carndonagh), OisinLangan (St Michael’s), Jack McSharry (Killybegs, 0-1); Rory O’Donnell (Milford, 0-1), Ryan McFadden (Termon, 0-1); Kealan Dunleavy (Glenswilly), Peadar Mogan (St Naul’s), Jason McGee (Cloughaneely, 0-4, 2f, 45); Mark McAteer (Gaeil Fhánada), Sean Neary (Bonniconlon, Mayo), Joel Bradley Walsh (Sean MacCumhaills). Subs: Liam Gaughan (Tourlestrane, Sligo, 0-4, 4f) for McAteer, (20); Eoin Dowling (St Eunan’s) for Neary, (half-time); Keelan McGroody (Downings, 1-0) for Walsh, (50); Dylan Dorrian (Milford) for Dunleavy, (50).

IT Carlow: Killian Roche (Killeshin, Laois, 0-2, 2f); Jack Donohue (Bannow Ballymitty, Wexford), Mark Furey (Éire Óg, Carlow), Keelan McDonnell (Ballintubber, Mayo); Conor Doyle (Rathvilly, Carlow), Josh Moore (Rathvilly, Carlow), Peter Hempenstall (Arklow Geraldine’s, Wicklow); Tommy Griffin (Gerald Griffins, Limerick, 0-1), Padraig O’Toole (Kilegan, Wicklow); Darren McDermott (Leixlip, Kildare), Gearoid Murphy (Annacurra, Wicklow, 0-4, 3f), Adam Steed (St Laurence’s, Kildare, 1-0), JP Hurley (Arklow Gerarldine’s, Wicklow), Jack O’Leary (St Fintan’s, Wexford), Evan Lowry (Killeshin, Laois, 0-4, 3f). Subs: Joey Wallace (Ratoath, Meath) for O’Leary, (half-time); Donal Keappock (Drumgoon Éire Óg, Cavan) for Hempenstall, (50); Drew Costello (Naas, Kildare) for Steed, (55); Paul Farrelly (Sallins, Kildate) for McDermott, (55).

Referee: Cormac Reilly (Meath).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.