'Proud moment' - Carlow and Newport County star Pádraig Amond earns first Ireland call-up

This is brilliant!

Darren Hassett


Darren Hassett



Carlow Carlow Carlow

Pádraig Amond from Carlow

Carlow man Pádraig Amond has been called up to the provisional Republic of Ireland squad for their upcoming European Qualifying matches against Gibraltar and Georgia.

Mick McCarthy has selected the in-form striker for the upcoming Euro 2020 qualifiers as part of his 38-man provisional squad.

Carlow native Amond plays in the fourth tier of English football but the 30-year-old striker has scored 21 times so far this season for his club Newport County - including goals against Leicester City, Middlesbrough and Manchester City in the FA Cup.

Amond told iFollow Exiles: "I'm so delighted to have received my first call-up. This is the proudest moment of my career so far.

"There is no bigger honour than getting the chance to represent your country, so I am delighted to have that opportunity."

Republic of Ireland Provisional Squad
Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Kieran O'Hara (Macclesfield Town*), Mark Travers (Bournemouth)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Richard Keogh (Derby County), John Egan (Sheffield United), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Kevin Long (Burnley), Jimmy Dunne (Sunderland*), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers), Stephen Ward (Burnley)

Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Sunderland), Alan Judge (Ipswich Town), James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Harry Arter (Cardiff City*), Glenn Whelan (Aston Villa), David Meyler (Coventry City*), Shaun Williams (Millwall), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Daryl Horgan (Hibernian)

Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), Scott Hogan (Sheffield United*), Aiden O'Brien (Millwall), David McGoldrick (Sheffield United), James Collins (Luton Town), Padraig Amond (Newport County)